Appearance
File Uploads
File uploads
In addition to text entries, you can upload digital files into the patient record. Where possible, files can be viewed directly within the patient's page; otherwise they are stored safely for download to your device at any time. As with text entries, all uploaded files are securely encrypted to protect their contents.
There is no restriction on the type of file that can be uploaded. The maximum single file size is 5 megabytes by default. Please contact us if you need to upload larger files.
Uploading a file
To upload a file into a patient's record, first select the patient and open the notes tab. At the bottom of the patient's journal, click Upload File. On the upload page, click File and select the file you wish to upload from your computer. Only one file can be uploaded at a time. You must also give a description of the file in the description box. Click Upload File to start the upload. Depending on your internet speed and the size of the file, this may take some time. Do not refresh the page while the upload is in progress. The page returns to the patient notes journal when the operation is complete.
Viewing or downloading files
Once uploaded, files are listed as entries in the notes journal. Because they are stored in an encrypted format, you must click a button to view or download the file.
For files recognised as images, click View Image. The image is decrypted and shown within the patient record. A copy is not saved to your device.
For all other file types, click Download File. The file is decrypted and your browser downloads it to your device. You must delete the file from your device when you have finished with it. Changes made to a downloaded file are not reflected in the copy stored in the patient's record — if changes are made, a new copy must be uploaded.
Editing & deleting files
Only the description of an uploaded file can be edited. To do this, click the edit button and make the required changes.
To delete an uploaded file, click the delete button in the patient journal. Users can delete files they have uploaded, and users with the system owner role can delete any file.
Viewing the history of files
To help you comply with information governance requirements, a log is created for all files uploaded to Secure Clinic. To view this, click History on the file you are interested in. In addition to recording when and by whom the file was uploaded, logs are created each time it is viewed or downloaded. Modifications, deletions and restorations are also recorded.
Safety of uploaded files
Secure Clinic does not scan uploaded files for computer viruses. You should run up-to-date antivirus software on any device you use and be cautious about any files uploaded by colleagues that you do not recognise.